All About Daily Manifestation News

Top 10 Ignition Interlock Device FAQs after A Phoenix DUI

May 16

Top 10 Ignition Interlock Device Questions after a DUI in Phoenix

When someone are convicted of an Arizona DUI involving alcohol, one of the punishments they face is the requirement to install an ignition interlock device breathalyzer in every vehicle they drive. The length of time that people will be required to have these breathalyzer devices installed in their vehicles will be determined by the severity of the DUI, whether it is a misdemeanor or felony, the number of previous DUI convictions on your record within the last seven years, and your blood alcohol concentration at the time of arrest. The top ten ignition interlock device frequently asked questions from Shah Law Firm clients are shown below.

1. How Much Does an Ignition Interlock Device Cost?

People who are ordered to install ignition interlock devices as a part of their DUI sentences are required to do so at their own cost. The costs include the installation cost as well as monthly lease payments, monthly service costs, and removal costs. On average, there is an installation fee that can range up to $150 per vehicle and you can expect your monthly payments to range from $70 to $100. You do not purchase an ignition interlock device. Instead, these devices are leased for the duration of how long you are required to have them installed.

2. How long must I have an interlock device in place?

The amount of convictions you've had in the last seven years, as well as your BAC at the time of your arrest, will determine how long you'll be needed to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. You must have the device placed for 12 months if you are convicted of driving under the influence for the first time with a BAC of 0.08 percent. If you were convicted of a first-time extreme DUI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15 to 0.199 percent, you will still be obliged to have the device installed in your car for 12 months. If you are convicted of a first-time extremely extreme DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.20 percent or above, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car for 18 months.

3. What if I Fail an Interlock Breath Test?

When you first get into your vehicle, you will have to blow into the tube before your vehicle will start. Ignition interlock devices do not allow vehicles to be turned on when a person has a BAC of 0.02% or higher. If you fail an interlock test, an alert will be sent to the ignition interlock device provider. The provider will then report the failed test to the Arizona Department of Transportation MVD, which can extend the length of time that you will be required to have the device installed in your vehicle by a minimum of six months, and in some cases even potentially restart the mandatory length of time.

4. What if the Device Malfunctions and Gives a False Reading?

Ignition interlock devices work similarly to the portable breath tests police use during traffic stops in how they measure the percentage of alcohol on your breath. However, portable breath tests and ignition interlock devices can both return false positives because of several different factors. In the majority of cases, a false positive on an ignition interlock device will happen because of a substance in your mouth when you give a breath sample. Ignition interlock devices are calibrated to detect even the smallest amounts of alcohol samples in your exhaled breath. If you have trace amounts of alcohol or another substance that can give a false reading, you could end up with a false-positive result on the test.

5. What Happens If I Want to Buy a New Car?

If you purchase a new car, you will have 72 hours after your old vehicle's ignition interlock device is removed to reinstall it in your new vehicle. Do not drive until it is placed in your new automobile once it has been removed from your old one. Driving your new vehicle without an ignition interlock device installed is against the law in Arizona. This implies you should not test drive a new vehicle because it will not be equipped with an ignition interlock device. You may bring a friend to the car lot with you to test drive the vehicle while you ride as a passenger. Inquire with your provider about how to transfer the gadget from your old vehicle to your new one.

6. Is it Legal for Me to Drive a Company Car Without an Ignition Interlock Device?

Many people drive company vehicles as part of their work to transport cargo, passengers, deliver packages, and do other responsibilities. If you have to drive a corporate car as part of your job, you may be wondering if you may do so without an ignition interlock device installed. If you are charged with DUI while driving a commercial vehicle, this can be quite detrimental. Employer exemptions used to exist in Arizona, allowing employees to drive business vehicles while on the job if their employers consented in writing. The exception was eventually revoked by the legislature in 2013. This means that driving a corporate vehicle without an ignition interlock device is prohibited. Instead, any vehicle without an ignition interlock device is prohibited from being driven.

7. What if I am an Independent Driver for a Company Such as Uber or Lyft?

If you are convicted of a DUI and work as a ride-share driver, you can expect to lose your ability to drive for the company. Both Uber and Lyft perform background checks on their drivers. If you have a DUI conviction within the past seven years, you will not pass the background check. If you already are an Uber or Lyft driver, the companies run annual checks on their drivers. You will lose your privileges to use the app when they discover your DUI. Even if you are between annual background checks, however, you must have an ignition interlock device installed in any vehicle you drive, including any vehicle you might use for Uber or Lyft.

8. What if it Is an Absolute Emergency, but I Consumed Alcohol?

You cannot drive a vehicle in Arizona when you are under the influence of alcohol. You also cannot borrow a vehicle from someone else that does not have an ignition interlock device installed. Under ARS 28-1464, people can only borrow vehicles from others that do not have ignition interlock devices installed when there is a substantial emergency. However, doing so when you have been drinking is never okay. Instead, take a taxi or ride-share if you have an emergency and have been drinking alcohol.

9. What if I Smoked Marijuana?

Ignition interlock devices do not detect marijuana on your breath. However, you should avoid driving if you are impaired to the slightest degree by marijuana. If you do, you could be charged with a new Marijuana DUI based on the levels of THC in your system.

10. How Can I Avoid Having to Install an Ignition Interlock Device?

Any DUI conviction in Arizona will result in an order to install an ignition interlock device in every vehicle that you drive. The only way to avoid having to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle is to have an aggressive DUI attorney work to get your charges reduced or even your DUI dismissed completely.

For more information about laws governing the use of Ignition Interlock Devices visit the Shah Law Firm website at https://arjashahlaw.com or one of the resources below.

https://sites.google.com/view/arijashahlaw/communities-served/chandler-criminal-defense-lawyer